top of page
  • Amie Elizabeth White

The Bridgewater Effect

Updated: Jun 6, 2020


FOR my second blog post, I wanted to talk about a brand which is becoming a trait in the British home, and how you can apply this as a dedicated theme in your own. Even if you haven't purchased an item, very few of us are a stranger to her name and the products that she sells. Her bold patterns and bright colours, traditional and unexpected markings of English heritage and appeal in both purpose and aesthetics is making her unavoidable. But for this she should not be apologetic. The chickens, the hearts, the flowers, the polka dots... Her work is something to be marvelled at - simple in its concept but so effective in its practice. Yes, all hail Emma Bridgewater.

AS a devotee of homewares and kitchen items, I have long known of Emma Bridgewater, but my experience with her produce is flimsy. I adore her Ocean-themed bowls and plates, dreaming of the day I eat my lobster from its platter or pepper Tobasco over oysters in their designated dish. I love the practicalities behind Toast & Marmalade products, and my heart quickens at the colours used for the ripe tomatoes, pomegranates, animals and flowers which adorn them. I like that she celebrates all things traditional in both the pattern and the product, and love seeing her items in use in the home. Personally, however, I own none. And this is purely because the ones I want are on an extensive mental "Wishlist" which I am yet to address, and my own reluctance into buying whats 'trendy' or 'typical' of this current age. However, I have a new found respect for Emma as both a designer and for the person behind the brand. I found this when I began reading her book - Pattern. I borrowed it from the library with the idea that I would simply flick through the images and find a bit of inspiration dotted here and there. But I was drawn in to reading it properly by a good recipe, and the anecdote to go with it. I continued to read, and before long became fully absorbed in the book and it's autobiographical form. The book throws light upon her inspirations and how her work comes about, formed from childhood memories and found in daily life. The traditional prints are from scenes which we are all familiar with. The more 'exotic' are from holidays and far off lands, but remain simple and classic, and continue to ring of the simplicity of English pleasures. I really like how she works: it is relaxed, but meaningful and determined. And she deserves all the credibility that she has gained, and more.

Her book is split into 6 chapters, the "categories" of inspirations and the patterns she produces. These are Flowers, Animals, Fruit, The Sea, House and Lettering. Each section then is then divided by a page or two dedicated to the story behind the specific print, such as Sweet Pea, Red Flower, Blue Hens, Pomegranates, Aga Saga and LOVE. I have taken a few of these subsections as a basic 'theme', and sourced products which can be used in the home to draw it all together.

First up: FLOWER.

Second: FRUIT. I absolutely love the pomegranates and oranges and would dedicate whole rooms to these prints alone. However, I found that current trends aligned more with Kitchen Garden, and is perhaps a more easier to incorporate into the home now. And for the wine lovers - Vine is a trend I am certain you can get on board with!

THIRD: ANIMALS

Dogs are a common feature throughout this section, one of the "homely species" which she refers to as her inspiration in the book. The elegant greyhounds leap through the hunting print, and Labradors have their own dedication as the only possible comfort when faced with a number of problematics in life (such as painful heartbreak or dropping your last chocolate brownie.) I chose sausage dogs as my port of call - probably from my increasing love of them in reality, but also because of the products I have seen and the genuine uses that such a long and short-legged shape can have. Of course, pick any animal. But be classic rather than fantastical. Pick a hare rather than a giraffe, a chicken rather than a unicorn, then your animal trinkets will remain useful in any style of room. Practicality is key to Bridgewater products and should be key to the items you purchase.

Fourth: SEA. This is definitely my favourite and I think there is so much out there at the moment that works with this theme. I don't want to focus too much on it here as I have another blog post coming that focuses on a beach theme, but here are a few particularly wonderful pieces.

If going by theme seems difficult, it is very easy to use simple colour or patterns that match the certain product you have. For instance, pastel polka dots or pink hearts instantly add an Emma Bridgewater vibe to any room or furnished product. The overall colour palette is extensive, but it is always simple and complementary to the print or product being used. The bolder the colours in the pattern, the more specific the object of the pattern is, if that makes sense. Take pomegrante - undoubtedly one of the prime examples of bold colour use, but the only image is that of a pomegranate, not a fruit bowl. The use of dots - whether different colours or just one - is a feature standpoint and can provide a basic canvas for striking coloured items. Alternatively, print can appear in small quantities where attention to detail is key. Whether you opt for a full-on printed wall or specific item to display your Emma Bridgewater objects, it is a theme that is easy to take apart and use elsewhere, is practical, and has a wide scope for change and adaptation to add the personal touches you want in your home. As she becomes ever present, I would dismiss of the use of the word "trend", as I think she goes far beyond this. To me, Bridgewater is becoming a tradition. Whether it appeals to each individual I cannot say, but I do not think this is important. She is recognisable and is enjoyed, and is definitely here to stay.


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page