top of page
  • Amie Elizabeth White

Mad about the Metro

Updated: Jun 6, 2020


Total credit is due to journalist Katie Watson-Smith (Mad about the House) and her post about Metro Tiles. She was writing about the trend back in 2014, but here, in 2018, I think it is something still so relevant and Metro interiors (both Metro-inspired and the ACTUAL transport link) has extended significantly. I agree with Katie, that the metro tile trend is very hit and miss. Get it right, and the tiles look fresh, modern and some an element of luxury. Alternatively, it can look too 'street' for indoor use, meaning dirty and unfinished. I would really recommend looking at the post if you want a heads up about metro tiles - the only thing I would add / emphasise is the use of coloured tiles and grout. Below are some pictures of my favourite uses.

The second part of this post I am attributing to my love of travel. I don't use the metro / subway / railroad often, but I always find a source of inspiration within or without and think some should be given credit for their use of interior decoration! Some of my favourites throughout the globe:

Central Metro Station, Stockholm

Metro Station Ceiling, Stockholm

Checker-board flooring, marbled wall tiles and mismatched slabs on the ceiling. I don't know either, but somehow it works?

Metro Station, Stockholm

Plac Wilsona, Warsaw, Poland

Named after Woodrow Wilson and inspired by UFO.

University of Naples Metro Station Staircase, Naples

This is one of the most effective ways to bring colour or pattern into a household and liven up any stairway. Use wallpaper samples, paint, chopped images & paintings making sure you measure the riser accurately to prevent gaps and overlap.

Toledo Metro Station, Naples

Photography by Mimmo Iodice, Naples

I think this is such a refreshing use of classical art. So simple but so so effective.

A Olaias Station, Lisbon

Westfriedhof Station, Munich

Most definitely an inspiration for lighting and colour schemes that can be used in the home.

Slavyansky Bulvar Station, Moscow

Moscow Metro Station

Moscow Metro Station

Avtovo Metro Station, St. Peterburg

Bochum Rathus, Germany

Arts et Metiers Station, Paris

Arts et Metiers Station, Paris

Copper walls and ceiling cogs. If this doesn't hit the industrial decor scheme nail on the head then I don't know what will!

Aalto University Metro Station, Finland

Who knew the metro could be so much more than convenience? Never underestimate!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page