top of page
  • Amie Elizabeth White

Purchase(s) of the Day


I am currently in the process of redecorating my bedroom and having finally chosen my colour scheme and general style, I set about to begin some necessary purchases. At present, my room is a plain magnolia, with a suede brocade print wall that was black and grey prior to my demand for a 'clean slate'. Some caught my eye a while ago and having left it for a while, I am lucky that they had not been snapped up. Even more so because a few of them have recently gone into sale! It is far from finished, and painting and purchases will continue to mount, however I am more than happy with the few bits I got today.

I bought this mix of cushions from Matalan. I knew green was going to be the main colour of my soft furnishings and accents in the room, and cushions in various shades and materials added luxury and texture really easily. I also knew Mongolian fur would appear somewhere, but I was never too sure how as I find it a very hit-and-miss texture to incorporate. I think sometimes it looks shabby and matted, two things I definitely did not want in my room. Then I saw this mustard mongolian cushion, and I knew it was essential. Not only does it pack a punch, love it or hate it, it works so well as a complimentary shade to the greens which is unexpected to most I am sure. The dark green is made from velvet, the pale green from a textured crosshatch polyester, and the mustard is, obviously, mongolian fur! (faux, of course.)

Now, for the lamp. I have searched high and low and long and hard to find one I wanted for my room. Believe me, I have been in places I never thought I would venture in trying to find one! I love lighting and there are so many lamps I want and need, but just not for this room. I wanted something elegant, something different, and something big. I was thinking a Tiffany style shade or a french style stand, gems, animal, floral, green.... I just didn't know until I found it. Then I came across this little number which I just love. The stand is what stole my heart, and the shade can be painted if I feel it right, or changed should I stumble upon another which I like. I have been in vintage markets, antique stores, online trawling and high-end hunting, but this so happens to be from another unexpected high-street store - Dunelm! I have yet to remove the packaging incase I get busy with paints again, so apologise for the dominance of close-ups.

In the third image you can also see two extra accessories which I bought - some faux foliage and some green glass bulbs. I love flowers and think they can and should be incorporated into every room and every setting you can manage. They add a subtle freshness, a pop of colour, calmness and an air of comfort. Flowers are beautiful, and greens such as the plant above are complimentary to any scheme and any display. The hanging bulbs are, again, an unexpected purchase as I am not one for fairy lights or the solar powered twinkles that could land a plane in the garden - stemming from my parents sporadic solar displays in theirs. But I like these, with the lights on and off. The crackle effect of the glass keeps them from looking cheap and dull in the day time, and adds an extra sparkle when the bulbs inside are switched on.

Finally, my art. I love art. I spend hours looking at it and days travelling to see certain exhibitions or trawling through books based on those I cannot see in person. These three pieces will definitely be on my walls and will be joined by many more soon.

My room is a work in progress, but it is becoming more 'me' every time I spend time on it and this is something I believe to be so essential when designing and decorating ones personal space. If your room isn't personal to your tastes and your character, then you'll never feel like your true self when in it. If you want to take risks then do and if you want it to be simple then detox - if you feel good within it, it will do good within you.


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page