top of page
  • Amie Elizabeth White

Lilacs so Lovely

Updated: Jun 6, 2020


I was in the middle of a consultation at work a few days ago when it happened. All was normal, all was well… but then I went and dropped the L-bomb and everything changed. My client reacted by faux-vomiting and I reacted by trying to hide my shock horror so fluffing my words and declaring that we need to move on. We just didn’t see eye to eye... we just couldn’t ride out the relationship... She hates purple, and I realised it just wasn’t meant to be. In my heartbroken state, I decided to do what I love to do: shop, style, design and write. So today, I am dedicating my post to Lilac.

I know, I know, it’s a colour of the Season. It's seen on the pages of magazines and on our Instagram feeds, floral arrangements in shops, candy coloured accessories etc. etc. It’s Spring time, so pastels are predictable, florals are “groundbreaking”… yes I know the phrases but honestly, I can’t get enough. My inner girly girl is out and I’m beginning to dress head to toe in paler shades and lighter linens, and dying to cover my whole bedroom ceiling with hanging lavenders or wisteria (a little bit of wedding-like dreaming?)

We have all heard that certain colours can cause certain reactions, awaken subconscious senses and are symbolic of different forces, moods and powers. Purple is a colour with a lot to say. As a mix of blue and red, it represents both calmness and fierce energy. It has long been associated with the noble ranks and extravagance, but that's not something we aspire to anymore and definitely doesn't appeal for our home decor. However, that's where the lighter shades of Lavender and Lilac become saviours, and are something with more to give. They are softer forms of purple that symbolise wealth and purity without connotations of indulgence. They are considered feminine and graceful, rare and dignified. In Greek, the Lilac symbolises love. In nature, it is rare and so valued as precious. I don't know whether anybody else finds themselves sifting through the clothes rails with a little more delicacy than they do with shades of navy and grey, but a softer approach is somewhat essential, and this doesn't stop when you leave the shops either.

As we stride through early Spring, I am sure you have found yourself looking for ways to refresh your home, maybe inviting more colour into the mix and opening the windows a little wider than before. Lilac is a great way to get your fresh Spring fix, adding a touch of colour-fused energy, but in the softest and most calming of ways. Whether you go the whole hog and re-decorate entirely. or just add a few touches here and there, a little bit can go a long way and you're sure to have a spring in your step because of it.

FOR INSPIRATION: A few of my favourite lilac-hued interiors.

FOR DECORATION: What I'm using to get my clients loving this candy colour in their home.

1. Dulux Violet White – one of their Natural Hints collections, this colour is the palest of shades but unapologetically purple. I’d use this throughout a hallway space or for a single wall in a chalky all- grey bathroom.

Recommended pairings*: Gallant Grey & Chic Shadow / Pressed Thistle & Lavender Quartz

2. Dulux Dusted Fondant – not only does the name sound sweet as candy but the colour pairings and real-life pictures make this a delightful shade for those wanting to welcome more than just a dash of colour in their spring nests.

Recommended pairings*: Sweet Pink & Berry Smoothie / Scent Bottle & Deep Fossil

3. Dulux Engraved Locket – this is my favourite of the four Dulux colours. It’s a cooler shade of lilac so pairs well with frosty blues and greys. I think this one would be the most versatile and appealing for those looking to redecorate with shades that last beyond a Spring Fling – hence why it is one of their Timeless Classics. I’d use this for dining spaces and a home office.

Recommended pairings*: Dove Slate, Rock Salt &Atmosphere

4. Dulux Amethyst Starling – This is one of their “Country Retreat” colours which is all fine and well but a little bit dated. I’d use this darker shade alongside other darker blue-grey shades to maximise the drama but keep the space fresh and liveable. Recommended pairings*: Breton Blue & Gentle Lavender / Bowler Hat & Misty Mirror

Papers:

FOR YOU: What to buy to get lilac working for you

I hope you share in my love for lilac and I would love to see how you work it in your home. Please feel free to slide into my inbox with any questions or comments, and don't forget to subscribe!

A.

*Disclaimer: All Recommended pairings are from the Dulux Website - I just happen to agree!


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page