top of page
  • Amie Elizabeth White

Fall into Autumn

Updated: Jun 6, 2020


The transitional period between seasons is often seen as tricky, overwhelming, and sometimes a little bit sad. As we say goodbye to summer and begin to look ahead at the darker months, I can understand why people get a little bit bothered. But the transitional period, especially at this time of year, is one of my favourites. You can cherry pick your favourite things from the previous season and keep sneaking them into your life before they completely disappear until next year, whilst dipping into the waters of the season ahead before committing yourself wholly. Summer to Autumn. It is the time of year when it’s ok to indulge on Limoncello dessert, take a drive to the beach, or wear white linens with those square-toe Bottega Veneta’s / the Zara equivalent strapped onto your feet. It’s also ok to reach for the gnocchi, wear cashmere out to dinner and to buy the first throw for those all-important layers on your winter bedspread. Yes, it's a transitional period, but it is one with the most to offer and least to fear.

I begin with listing my three ESSENTIALS for the Autumn months beginning as soon as the equinox occurs.

  1. SKINCARE. If you don’t have a routine, at least acknowledge that a few minor changes will do the world of good for your skin. I am not prescribing a full list with 50 different products because I don’t have or believe in such an extensive routine, nor do I have the same skin as each of you. But I do prioritise a good cleanser, a daily exfoliate, a few energy enhancing boosters and masses of moisturiser. For the latter, I use at least 3 different particulars and at different times throughout my day/weekly cycle. As the autumn dampness makes skin cloggy, the chill in the air will begin to dry it out and it can be hard to balance what needs to be added vs. what needs to be eradicated. There is no one-size fits all so it is up to you to find the keys to your skin-care-locket. Regardless, my number 1 answer is ALWAYS moisturise more than you think.

  2. Cashmere. As mentioned above, use this gorgeous fabric to accessorise your body and your home. I’ll be picking colours of sand and stone and opting for ultimate comfort for both. Where cashmere is concerned, even a sweatshirt can be chic. Below are some items from my wardrobe wishlist. (all available on https://www.net-a-porter.com/gb/en/)

  3. Travel cups: Not only to contribute to saving the environment one little re-usable step at a time, but also for transporting daily essentials and ensuring that your mind, body and flu-fighting immune system is kept in tip top condition before the true test of winter kicks in. Key investments: a good flask for coffee, a large bottle for water, and a shaker for your smoothie or post-gym fix.


Summer swan song: so what am I going to miss and what am I glad to see the back of? To begin with, I will miss the glut of fresh tomatoes I have enjoyed weekly. My daily consumption has probably been more than what is deemed healthy, but there are worse things I could be addicted to aren’t there? One of my favourite ways to enjoy them has been charred until blistering hot, with grilled aubergine and fresh goats curd. Spoon atop toasted sourdough at your will. I’ll miss opening the windows and welcoming the sweet fresh air that comes through the house, and the mass of natural light that imposes itself with it. I’ll miss lemon-yellow and sorbet shades - but know I can continue these under the guise of “iced” and “frosted” in future months so I’m doing ok with this. And I’ll miss sipping strong Italian coffee in the afternoon sun, as if I had been working in the Mediterranean heat all morning. Nevertheless, the Autumn is a period to be hailed and I love how enthusiastic and embracing brands and companies are. In the US, the fall is cause for celebration, and the PSL and Pecan pie epitomise the seasons goods. The excitement is infectious. (but the PSL is something to skip, trust me)

So, My Autumn Harvest:

Sweet treats have to make an appearance, as baking fever hits and Halloween is just around the corner. This year I'll be trying my hand at presenting some exquisite desserts including gingerbread with caramel pecans and poached pears. I'll be heading to Laduree to try their exclusive Halloween macrons and of course I'll be dipping in to Hotel Chocolat to pick up a few of their seasonal delights.

Plum Coloured Lipsticks - I am a huge fan of Lancome lipsticks and their L'Absolu Mademoiselle Collection has some beautiful berry shades. My experience with all Lancome lipsticks has been great. It goes on smooth and milky, and holds its fruitful colour without getting sticky or flavouring every word you say.

Weekend walks: As we say goodbye to our tanned skin, the world outside gains its gold instead. It seems fitting to spend time celebrating the outside air before it gets too cold to enjoy it. The perfect scenario would see it rounded off with a good lunch and a glass of something joyous, of course.

Speaking of lunch, it's seafood and Chablis season people! I don't need to elaborate on my enthusiasm for this but be in no doubt that I'll be enjoying it as often as I can. Books, books, books. As if we need a reason to buy more books, the dampening weather and cosier nights gives us further incentive. I have just started the Games of Thrones collection so assume that I will be hibernating with these forthwith, alongside my usual monthly magazines and online publications. And reading makes you more intelligent, doesn't it?

Silverwear - call me old fashioned, but yes, I am rather glad to wave goodbye to al-fresco finger foods and say hello to proper cutlery. It's the season for showy tableware and being a bit fancy with no apologies needed. I'll be posting the items that will be gracing my table in future months I'm sure!

Finally, the wardrobe. Thick knits, fur coats, leather boots and roll-necks. Oh my heart soars and my wish list grows. We are always told we have 'too many clothes' but I believe that this time of year is best for shopping, as the pieces are sturdier and built to last, so you spend a little more to invest in them, and wear them again and again. It's less throwaway fashion than the summer months seem to foster which is something we should be happy to invest in. To top it all off? New pyjamas that'll make your reading even easier and your sleeping ever chicer.

Whilst shopping for pieces for this post, I ended up whittling down my selection to an exclusive one-shop-stop and found that ANTHROPOLOGIE has more than enough to inspire some home decor this season. They have embraced Autumn accents without being predictable in their choices, such as the harvest basket door stop and tulip print for the wall. See my selection below.

(all available on https://www.anthropologie.com/en-gb/)

As always, feedback and questions are wanted and welcomed! Now don't let the season get away. Happy Harvest! A x


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page