top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmie Elizabeth White

Desperately Seeking Su... My Mojo.

Updated: Jun 6, 2020


I try every day to be positive, but sometimes I burn myself out and end up having “one of those days” for a few days in row. Do you do the same? I seem to fly through weeks on end with no problem, then suddenly it hits me all at once. And on January 31st, I was hit – and yes, I am still struggling, but I know that all the efforts I make now WILL produce a brighter future even if it doesn’t feel too great this second. As February marks all things love, I decided to take note of the ways that I have shown myself a little love, in the hope that it brings back a little of my mojo. Here's what I did to go about it:


1. I bought an electric diffuser and will be working my way through a selection of NEOM essential oils to energise, stabilise and empower me.


2. I finished reading my February issues of ELLE, HARPERS and VOGUE, to name a few, ready for my March subscribers’ issues to be delivered in the next few days. (My ELLE has arrived and I love the Zoe Kravitz subscribers cover!)



3. I bought both Sea Bass and Salmon fillets because they are two foods that I take absolute pride and pleasure in cooking and eating, and I could do so every day. PLUS both are super nutritious, full of heart healthy and mood boosting fats, high quality proteins and a vast array of vitamins and minerals to heal me from within.


4. I also worked on some of my own recipes for my work-in-progress books. Today’s addition was my take on French Onion soup with added goodness: French beans, spinach and crispy grilled flat mushrooms. It was a triumph (although the aesthetics need some work)


5. I considered what was weighing me down and one of the things I realised was that I felt guilt for the way I had acted with some people in my life, so set about amending a few of these broken ties or waning friendships. I congratulated an old friend for the news of his baby girl, I offered another olive branch to a friend who I bruised and was then ghosted by, I spent a moment to message a friend who had openly talked about being lonely yet I hadn’t made half of the effort I should have to help her, and I apologised to a heart that I ripped out, chewed up, put back and left behind long ago. It hasn’t revolutionised my life but it has alleviated some ‘niggles’ that were weighing me down.

6. I did some work researching and testing some recipes ready for the SUPERNOVA LIVING Valentines Newsletter – a team that I became a part of in January and one that I am very excited to be working with. Keep watching this space (and the SUPERNOVA one for all my inputs and updates, of course!)


7. I borrowed a selection of books from the library including THE CLEAN SKIN COOKBOOK, by Dale Pinnock (research purposes), GAME OF THRONES by George R. R. Martin (because I started it last year and got ‘too busy’ to read it) and The phantom of the opera by Gaston Leroux which I am not going to read because I need to read the other one first and that will definitely go beyond the 3 week loan period at this rate.

8. I put away the clothes that have been resting on my ottoman for a week – tidy room, tidy mind? Honestly though, this was really refreshing as it was a small task but one that I could “tick” from my list and feel a little bit more accomplished by!


9. I listened to 3 playlists: 1) Music from the Shire (The Hobbit) – for peace 2) Norah Jones Greatest Hits – for soul 3) Jay-Z – for attitude!

10. I began writing a new interiors-based blog post: Colour without the Kitsch. I’ll hopefully have this published next week!


11. I spent a good amount of time on Selfridges and NET-A-PORTER, and keeping up to date with NYFW! I didn’t order anything, but I didn’t need to. I genuinely love browsing through the new-in, keeping my eye out for new aesthetics and appreciating the art that designers create for our consumption.



12. Speaking of art, I also got some new images and pieces ready for my room. Although I am only back with my parents temporarily, I deserve my sanctuary space! And art is the easiest addition or subtraction that can affect a whole room and your mood as a result.


13. Finally, I remembered an article that I read a couple of weeks ago and began to infuse my daily life with the lessons that it taught and it has genuinely changed my life for the better. Instead of describing my daily tasks or every day actions as something I HAVE to do, I instead describe it as something I GET to do. For example: instead of “I have to take the dog for a walk soon”, I say “I get to take my dog for a walk soon” – the minute change genuinely makes me think of how lucky I am to get to do something that others may not ever get the chance to. “I get to walk the dog so my Mum doesn’t haven’t to”, “I get to walk the dog because she’s my puppy and how many people want their own dog”, “I get to walk the dog outside in our beautiful neighbourhood…” etc. etc. Trust me, it’s a revolutionary way to think.

Upon reflection, my self-care involves a lot of 'doing', but that's who I am and how I function! How do you get your mojo back? Whatever the answer, make sure that it makes you feel fabulous.


A x

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page