top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmie Elizabeth White

How Full is Your Cup?

Here’s a truth for you: your cup will NEVER be full. It’s impossible to be full, because there is always more that you will want and more that you can know. If your cup was full, you wouldn’t find unexpected beauty in the world, you wouldn’t be interested (or interesting!), you wouldn’t seek to be inspired, wouldn’t find new things to be grateful for, and you wouldn’t harness the power to self-optimise, to work for your better self or for the life that you can attain.

Seeing your cup as half-full is not a bad thing, as long as you are able to see the power in opportunity and the endless possibility of what can fill it. Knowing what fills your cup will mean that you actively pursue it to get the positive results that you want. It could be spending more time with your family, contributing to a community project, earning money through your business, educating yourself, meditating, working out, eating good food, some serious retail therapy or dancing with your friends. Every individual has different wants and needs that when achieved will contribute to their cup and to their values of life as a result. Remember, optimism creates opportunity and possibility is truly positive...


Having a half-full cup is not a bad thing. It means there’s room for more, and more is out there for you to find. Even the pessimist can get on board here because knowing your cup isn’t full is ok. In fact, the pessimism associated with a cup half-empty can be turned into motivation towards reaching your goals and your happiness by filling it. See the empty space in your cup as a problem – yes, SEE IT, EMBRACE IT, and USE IT as a call to action. Change the way you look at the empty cup: it’s the perfect space for you to grow into, the perfect space for achievements, and the perfect space for you to fill with all of your favourite things.


What’s important is to be self-aware and to know what fills your cup, but more important is having gratitude for it: for that which you have now and for that which you have to gain. Be grateful for who you are, what love you have, what will always be in your cup or what already fills it even in small ways each day. Write it down if it helps you remember.

Yes, I do have days where the empty space in my cup makes my mood suffer and my heart ache. But I know that my cup will always hold my love for my family, my friends, my unwavering ambition, my goodwill, my desire to learn, my love for fashion, the memories I treasure and the visionary plans I have made. My cup is unique, but like everyone else, it is a cup that holds what makes us whole, and there’s a whole world out there waiting to pour into it.

So strive to fill your half-full cup… seek what will make it overflow… and just before it runs over, spread that energy to others, fill their cups with what you have to give, and begin from your half-full cup all over again.


AE x


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page