top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmie Elizabeth White

She Sells Sea Shells

Updated: Jun 6, 2020

I admit straight away that I have developed a borderline obsession with the Zoe Kravitz cover for ELLE since the issue landed on my doorstep in January this year. Even before reading the accompanying article, I was fascinated. I love receiving my subscribers issue in normal circumstances, but I love it more when the cover or a particular feature captures my attention and fuels my passions straight away. It brings me a sense of content, and reiterates how fashion publications are some of the best containers for art and feeling and purpose.


This particular cover is exquisite. Poised and perfect, but powerful and striking in its simplicity. I flicked straight to the feature with anticipation - something I don't often do - and had a sneaky glance at the rest of the images. The cover confirmed the setting for the rest of it: Simple, Raw, Beautiful. I loved it. What struck me straight away was the harmony between the style of the images, the styling of the images and the person interviewed too. Kravitz is undoubtedly an artist known for quirkiness, but she seems peacefully and gracefully so. The words simple, raw and beautiful could relate to any aspect of the feature. It is both stimulating and calming, and shows how poignant natural can be.

I crave this kind of artistic beauty in life, hence why I keep going back to the shoot I think. How can I get this kind of thing in my daily living, especially when stuck at home? I have yet to receive an invitation from ELLE to shoot my own cover, and could only dream of producing something so beautiful as this. Nevertheless, I wanted to instil some of the shoot into my own world. I came across them weeks ago, but again I eyed up those PRADA earrings with a twinkle in my eye. Yes, they are shells - playful and child-like, but sophisticated and far from childish. They reminded me of the lobster earrings that TOPSHOP did years ago. I like them, a lot. So I went hunting for some ELLE-worthy Zoe-shoot inspired jewellery and thought I'd let you in on the pieces I found and at prices that accommodate for everyone. Now where did I put my green nail polish...


AE.


KRAVITZ PHOTOGRAPHED BY PAOLA KUDACKI. STYLED BY ANDREW MUKAMA. @ELLEUK

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page