top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmie Elizabeth White

The Beauty Bandwagon: Coconut Oil

It's been a hot topic for years, a not-so-secret ingredient for many, and a small monetary investment that promises a worthy profit. I tried once with coconut oil but failed to be converted. Years later and with a little more life under my belt, I've purchased another pot and wanted to share why and what I'll be using it for.

The Benefits

There are countless claims of the beneficial properties of consuming or using coconut oil. There are also a few warning of the downfalls, but I found a lot of these to be common sense and not something that needs to be dwelled on (e.g., coconut oil is high in fat, if you eat an excessive amount you can gain weight. Erm, obviously!). I am much more interested in the good and how they'll impact my health and regime each day. A quick outline of the benefits:


Coconut oil is a natural antioxidant both internally and externally. It contains · exceptionally high levels of lauric and caprylic acid (second to human breast milk). These acids are anti-fungal, antibacterial, antimicrobial and antiviral.


Along with these acids, coconut oil contains great amounts of Vitamin E and essential amino acids which together form a part of the barrier function of your skin and help maintain your skin's natural flora aka the good bugs.


It's a great emollient if this barrier function of your skin has been broken. The vitamins and acids are great at repairing and restoring it quickly as it is rapidly absorbed into the epidermis. In effect, it's great for healing skin after injury, sunburn, acne or dryness. Further, the use of coconut oil has shown to alleviate some complex skin conditions such as eczema or psoriasis.


The Medium Chain Fatty Acids are easily digestible and are processed by the liver so are converted to energy quickly inside the body.


· The fats present aid the body with absorption of nutrients, minerals and vitamins present in all of your other foods. That’s why a drizzle of oil or fats on your salad is a GOOD THING.


Adding it to your supplement rotation will help support the bodies natural hormone production. Use a teaspoon in your smoothie, afternoon shake or melted into your evening moon milk.


Beauty & Wellness

I'll be using coconut oil throughout my self-care and beauty regimes but will be adding it to my repertoire rather than using it to replace or overhaul my kit entirely. This is because I know that excessive use of coconut oil on our sensitive facial skin can clog pores or cause an unpleasant build up of oil if used constantly. But for the rest of my body, I see few limits!


Facial Cleanser: It's kinder to skin than using antibacterial gel or soaps and bolsters the protective layers that are stripped away day to day. I'll be using it alongside my usual facial cleansers as an extra step in my regime. Massage into the skin as you would with any other cleanser and wipe away excess oils with a damp flannel or cloth. Use before or after your usual ritual.


Toothpaste: A natural cleaner and brightener. Coconut oil has antifungal and antibacterial properties. Gargling for 20 minutes with a spoonful of oil (AKA oil pulling) can help clear up germs in the mouth, leading to fresher breath, whiter teeth, and healthier gums.


Highlighter: Hello dewy skin and healthy glow! I'll be putting a little over the top of my make-up to give a sleek and subtle shine to my cheeks, brows and collar.


Petroleum free Lip Balm: Scooped into a previously-bought tin so doubling up on my eco-friendly and natural attempts.


I'll also be using it as a Natural Lip Scrub by mixing it with a little rose water and sugar.


Body Oil: I am already a champion for all things oil thanks to my essential oils diffuser and the products from Rituals being a part of my beauty regime. I currently use their Ayurveda shower oil and tried their Namaste Restoring Face Oil - both are incredible and give such a feeling of indulgence whenever I use them. I'll be using coconut oil as a post-shower balm and using an extensive amount on my feet where its antibacterial and moisturising properties will be a god send.


Natural SPF: I won't be using it to replace SPF when sitting out in the sun, but day to day and in the limited rays of the British summer is a safe and stain-free option.


Silicone Free Hair Serum: to condition and tame ends, using it both day and night for extra shine. I find products with coconut oil in them too much for my hair but the natural, raw form in small doses has been a welcome addition to my hair.

Plates of Goodness

Coconut oil has a very high saturated fat content. In fact, about 87% of its fat is saturated meaning that it's one of the best fats for high-heat cooking. It adds a subtle but absolutely delicious additional flavour to any meal or snack, and as already said, helps the body absorb all of the nutrients, minerals and vitamins that your food is giving to you! A few of my coconut cooked favourites


Roasted Carrots, with maple syrup and thyme. I will serve these atop a peppery mix of rocket, spinach and watercress, toasted pumpkin seeds and a drizzle of creamy tahini.


Green Apple & Courgette Salad with fresh mint


Coconut "Butter" for glazing filo pastry before encasing a mix of prawns, spinach, toasted almonds and feta.


Roasted Figs, served with thick yoghurt and crunchy seeds


As an extra hit of flavour for a bowl of Sweet and Salty Popcorn


To combine and fry Pork Meatballs before adding them to a chickpea, green olive and fresh parsley salad


Fillet Steak. I say no more.




If you are not yet tempted to add coconut oil to your health, beauty and food based regimen,or simply don't know where to begin with the huge amount of products available, send me a message via instagram (@amieelwhite) or email (elizabethandwhite.contact@gmail.com) and I'll find your perfect fit.


AE x

15 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page