top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmie Elizabeth White

August Buys - September Skin

It was the onset of lockdown and the amount of self-care, beauty launches and time we found on our hands that made me think more about my skincare. I have always 'cared' for skin having had problem skin many years before any of my teenage friends. My last years at primary school and first years at secondary were not pleasant as I battled with bad skin, fitting in, no money for products, no knowledge about products, and the pressure of make-up as both necessity and social conduct. I remained conscious of my skincare routine and filled it with Clean-and-Clear, Tea Tree products and a little space for the luxury freebies I would get within the pages of my monthly magazine. My regimes were sloppy when young but as the years have passed I have come to value my skincare explicitly and I know this will continue as I respect the changes that environment, diet, age, mind and products available bring to my skin. Although small and sometimes costly, your skincare is such a great investment for the physical and emotional benefits that it brings. There is a power in showing your skin some love purposefully, and loving the effects that it has. There is a smugness and a comfort in knowing that you had the power to change your skin and care for yourself without disregarding or causing issues with others. I could go on all day about the health and wellness benefits of your skincare routines but it would become an endless piece of writing. So I'll cut to the chase and give you an insight into what I shopped in August to get my skin glowing for September, and the effects that they have had - if any - already.

This was top of my list and I know I am very late to the party. A cult product for many and with good reason. Hyaluronic Acid (HA) can attract up to 1,000 times its weight in water. It is found naturally in the skin but the molecules cannot penetrate it like an acid complex can. It isn’t an instant visual affect on the skin but I think using it over time will improve my skins natural hydration and my complexion and will really help preserve my skins natural hydration during the winter months. I also think it will be a valuable tool in warding off any premature wrinkles if used for a long period of time. I do feel quite smug each time I use it because I feel like I’m doubling on the powers of the moisturisers I use without needing to apply 2x the amount. I am also a fan of the droplet bottle as an easier and cleaner way to apply it. Has anybody been using this since it first emerged? I'd love to know how it changed your routine and affected your skin so comment, contact via social or drop me an email to let me know!


I was buying the hyaluronic acid and was running low on my previous primer so thought I may as well try this! It’s quite thick but spreads well and leaves my skin feeling silky. I usually only use primer if I am putting on foundation afterwards (opting for a CC cream or just moisturiser if not) but have used this on make-up free days because of its mattifying and softening powers and when it has felt like enough to face the world.


This is one of the first Nip+Fab products that I have purchased and I thought go big or go home, clearly! It’s called a powerhouse blend and yes, it is powerful. You can tell it’s an acid based exfoliator but I love that you can feel the strength of the prduct. I would probably steer clear if you have sensitive or irritated skin – I avoided the irritated areas I had recently until they cleared up a bit, opting to use the Lacura Glycolic Cleansing Pads as a softer, quick fix extra-step of cleansing in between N+F uses. Even after just a few uses, the Nip+Fab acid has made such a difference to my complexion – its much brighter, my skin tone is improved, and it feels “newer” and less congested in general – as an exfoliator should make you feel.

I’m jumping on it and testing it for you! so much hype surrounding this product and the benefits it brings. I’m not expecting it to be the quality of Elizabeth Arden but I want to see the affects it has on my skin. I have used it for the past 3 nights and I already love it! It’s like tree-sap in texture and goes on easily. I was super concerned because it did feel quite oily – but not serum oily, more like grease oily. I held my breath to say the least! But I woke up with brighter, dewy skin that definitely needed a cleanse but felt supple and cared for. Post-cleanse, I felt confident that my skin looked better! I won't be using this every night but think 2-3 per week will be enough to reap the benefits.


I began using this in June/July but stopped a few weeks after. It was supposed to unclog pores and resurface my complexion but it didn’t make any significant differences and if anything made my skin feel worse. I don’t think it sat well with my skin’s natural pH and I am also averse to witch hazel in my products (personal preference) so this has gone back into the cupboard. Sorry Kendall.


I had about 10 sachets of this mask and use it every one in a while to clean out my pores around my chin and nose. I use it after cleansing and “open” pores by warming my skin. I leave it on for as along as I feel and do find that it helps clear up impurities and my skin feels much smoother after using it. I am very hit-and-miss with masks but this one is palatable for my skin, does actually make a difference, cleans off well and isn't a mess to use. I have also used their Rose Clay mask which was super soothing and I know they have just released a charcoal mask with honey so I will be getting a tester for this ASAP.


Origins x Madeleine Shaw Glow-co-Nuts This is released in limited batches and whether they have another collaboration I do not know. I bought this when it first launched and have remained devoted - I honestly love it and it changed my skin entirely. I use it as an indulgent overnight moisturiser rather than as a mask as I feel this benefits my skin best. I use it once or twice a week (to preserve it and to ensure my skin doesn’t get clogged up) and genuinely look forward to using it. my skin is definitely more plumped and hydrated after one use – hence why the first promo tester converted me straight away. It's super thick but goes on easily and a little goes a long way. I used this on top of my HA last night and went to bed feeling so good in knowing that my face was the space for ultimate hydration. It shows today already. If you can get your hands on some of this then do, and tell me where you got it so I can get some more!


This is a new purchase for me as I felt I needed a refreshing cleanser for my skin that was fruity or soapy, and I hit the mark with this. Its super refreshing, doesn’t dry your skin out but makes you feel SO clean. It reminds me of washing my face on holiday. If you follow me on social you would have seen me complain about my skin getting super irritated from wearing a mask but this really helped cleanse it without irritating it and reduced inflammation completely. It contains hyaluronic acid so paired with my acid from The Ordinary afterwards is the ultimate hydration treat for day-to-day usage.


I got this for a simple day-to-day exfoliator. I bought it because it contains salicylic acid which will help shed the dead cells from my skin, reduce redness and inflammation. Its also supposed to speed up healing time so I believe my irritated skin will benefit. It's soft to use but there is noticeable exfoliation and my pores do look cleaner after a few uses. I was cautious using this on my irritated skin so focussed on my chin and my forehead which both look glowy and new and no new blemishes have emerged. A simple product - not revolutionary but I don't need it to be.Good for use every other day.



SEPTEMBER RADAR


The following is a list of a few products I am considering purchasing or testing before I do so. If there is anything on the list that you use or have tried already I'd love to know what you think.


My priority is a cleansing milk or lotion. Years ago I used Philosophy’s Purity Cleanser and I am tempted to go back to it, but don’t want to miss on the opportunity for something that will be super great for my skin. There are 5 that I am tempted by or would recommend for someone else for this month.

  1. Glossier Milky Jelly Cleanser, 177ml £15 Rated at 4.3/5 from 2882 reviews on their site. Rated super high by those with combination/oily skin – so 30 I would say great for skin if you’re in your 30s.

  2. Clarins Cleansing Milk with Alpine Herbs, £22 Alpine Herbs, St. John’s Wort, Sweet Almond, Marshmallow and Linden.

  3. ESPA Hydrating Cleansing Milk, £25 Rated 4.94/5 from 1572 reviews on their site. Reviews make it sound like a harmony of hydration and silky cleansing. There was one who waited a month for delivery to Finland but said its worth it for her new favourite and that it’s great for her winter. If it is good in winter in Finland then I am sure it’ll be sufficient for ours in GB!

  4. EMMA HARDIE Double Cleanse Moringa, 2x100ml £60 “an investment in the future of your face” apparently. A blend of moringa, sweet almond oil, omega 6, vitamin E and essential fatty acids moisturise, nourish, soften and smooth your skin, while moringa seed peptides fortify your skin against pollution. This sounds perfect for ageing skin and those who battle the levels of pollution that come with city living. I may be facing neither of this but it can't hurt to try...

  5. Awake Organics Sea Quartz Crystal and Algae Cleanser, £32.00 Part of Selfridges PROJECT EARTH. Vegan, cruelty-free; 100% recyclable packaging, paper packaging made with recycled materials; free from sulphates and parabens, made in England. It contains milled quartz crystals, spirulina, turmeric and UK-grown hemp seed oil and is supposed to "make way for a glowing complexion". The image above is of the product in its packaging and it almost glows already! I would love to try this product based on good reviews and personal intrigue, but don't think I'd use it as a daily cleanser.


ARKET Oakmoss Body Wash, £17 I smelled this in Manchester last week and melted into its damp but fresh scent. I wouldn’t buy the body lotion because I wouldn’t want to smell damp but fresh, but know it will invoke all sorts of feels when washing with it in the shower.


DR. G. Brightening Peel Gel, £14.95 I read a great review about this exfoliator so will be purchasing it in the near future. It is one of the products featured in the Korean Beauty hype that seems to be happening right now and is constantly going out of stock. I am wary of how much exfoliating I am doing to my skin but this is suitable for sensitive skin and is supposed to be quite gross in how effective it is so I am intrigued. It also contains mushroom, marshmallow plant, bark and licorice root extract to name a few – all ingredients that form a part of my wellness routine in other ways so it would be interesting to see how they affect my skin when applied together.


I was thinking of building this into a ritual for de-stressing or when my sleep is suffering. I’d be interested in reading on your take on the hemp oil or CBD infused products, if you have or plan to use them? Let me know via social or email elizabethandwhite.contact@gmail.com


When researching, I found this product super interesting as the brand safely produces squalene from 100% plant-based, renewable sugarcane that’s then bio-fermented. The gel is supposed to soothe the skin, strengthen the skin and restore natural balance. It has probiotics in it and is recommended for irritated skin including those suffering with rosacea. They have a before and after shot on their website which doesn’t look revolutionary but there is a definite brighter appearance to the skin.


A lighter fragrance than perfumes but one that I am sure carries itself well. Fig = fruity, lotus = lightness, grapevine = weight. One of the new perfumes by Jo Malone which will no doubt be gorgeous and my expectations are a given. I also liked the look of the Cypress and Grapevine but I think I’ll end-up smelling of actual earth if I buy the ARKET Oakmoss wash too.


Van Cleef & Arpels Oud Blanc, £130 I am dying to smell this and expect it to feature on my Christmas list this year. A mix of rose, vanilla and frankincense... Designed to “capture a single moment in time” – this one imagines the scent of burning wood, opening with a date accord and leading to an intoxicating heart of incense and oud accord. White musks and vanilla bean leave a lingering trail that’s warm and addictive.

Breakdown Top notes: date accord. Heart notes: oud accord, Turkish rose absolute, incense. Base notes: white musks, aldehyde, vanilla bean. Together: heavenly.


LOLA & WILD beauty stockists. They plant a tree for every order that is placed via their website so you can do good whilst doing yourself good. Product I'm shopping: UpCircle Coffee Body Scrub – Cacao, £14.99 Contains Cacao, sea salt, palmarosa and coconut oil. Designed to exfoliate but soft enough for use on the face. The exfoliation power comes from repurposed coffee grounds and with cacao in the mix I think this will smell divine and will use it to solve and invigorate the uneven skin I have on the tops of my arms.


A detoxifying face mask to fight blackheads, minimise the appearance of pores and helps to prevent breakouts. It contains rejuvenating white kaolin clay, coconut powder and baobab oil as well as the finely-ground powder of discarded olive stones, a natural by-product of the olive oil industry and a powerful anti-inflammatory for our skin. Their slogan is Reused, repurposed, reloved - and if it does these our skin too then what's not to like.



So that's my what August/September skincare is looking like, and my social pages will display what my skin looks like after it. What products are you using? What has caught your eye? Is there anything you need researching? Reach out and let me know.


instagram: @amieelwhite email: elizabethandwhite.contact@gmail.com

and subscribe!


AE X


38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page