top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmie Elizabeth White

Do you need a digital detox?




I have a list of notes and ideas for blog posts and articles to work on when the time feels right, and this is one that has been on my list for some time but I never felt too compelled to write. But then I was sent a sign, and I realised that now is the perfect time for it. The question: Do you need a digital detox? The answer: I can't provide your personal answer, but I can assume that a part of you will be saying yes, and so I hope this encourages you to disconnect in order to re-connect, to the world in which you live, the people that you love and most importantly to yourself.


There are so many benefits to being digitally connected. Endless information, communication, inspiration, entertainment… we really are living in an age where not being connected to some form of internet or screen at any time of the day (and night) is actually a bit weird. But last week I had a bit of an epiphany. My internet went off and my poor phone signal rendered me disconnected almost entirely. At first, I was frustrated. How am I going to answer my emails? How can I get any work done? How can I keep up with media, both official news and the unofficial "news" that I witness each minute? I was annoyed, then realised that I was annoyed, and stopped in my tracks. I didn’t like how I was responding dramatically to such a mediocre issue. I didn't like how I felt that I had to be online to be productive or to enjoy my day. I took it as a sign that I needed to disconnect, and who am I to argue with the universe (or my BT broadband workers?) So I called time out and switched off, and was instantly glad to do so.


I sat for a few minutes before going to my bedroom. I didn't cheat and nap my way through my digital withdrawal and I didn't reach for my iPad as is usually the case when I have free time on my hands. Instead I reached for my notepad, my pen, a recipe book and the unopened reading book that has been by my bed for months. I didn't get round to writing anything or researching some recipes because I ended up engrossed in my book, uninterrupted and totally immersed. It was weird to be uninterrupted and to know that I was going to be, rather than being uninterrupted by chance. But the strangest part for me was the sense of relief from a duty and compulsion to check my phone, because it would have been useless and time wasting to do so. Strange, but wholesome.


Ask yourself this - how much of your day is voluntarily and completely spent screen free? Do you become agitated when you aren't connected? How much does your screen time benefit you? Is your time spent dedicated to work, to learning, to connecting with others, for entertainment, or to your subconscious self-sabotage? There are so many statements and statistics about the good and the bad that constant connectivity has on our wellbeing and way of life, but disconnecting yourself even just for a short period of time could be a tiny release from a societal and emotional obligation that may just change your life.



One of the most obvious benefits of disconnecting: Time. Time that can be spent well and scroll-free. Devote yourself to it. Use the uninterrupted time to read (not flick through) your monthly magazine or re-visit that novel on your bedside table that you haven't dedicated yourself to yet. Channel or renew a passion of yours that has taken a backburner despite being top of your lockdown "to-do list". Bake from a book rather than an online recipe. Tidy the corner of your room that you were thinking of using as your sanctuary space last week but still haven't made the effort to do so. Write your week-long, year-long or 5 year plan. Study. Meditate. Talk to your Partner. Work out. So much more can be done and so much more can be said when you're screen free and dedicating your attention wholly, and you'll never know unless you try it.


One of the main reasons for disconnecting is to re-connect, and not being attached to your phone gives you the opportunity to do this. So often we have our faces down and avoid social interactions as a result. I know that the current circumstances mean we cannot be our true, sociable selves, but now more than ever we should be taking the opportunity to ask a neighbour how they are or to say more than just hello to the person you see each day as you pass in the local store. Make the effort to show interest, create and respect the sense of community that you encourage, and make someone's day as well.


Disconnecting will also build your confidence. Your head will be higher because you aren't looking down at your device physically, but more importantly your head will be higher because you aren't busy comparing your life to the life of someone you follow. Everyone is different, every path is different, and every journey is unique. Sometimes you need to take time away from the life of everyone else to focus on and to cultivate your own. Inspiration is found online, but the action comes from you, and dedicating just 1 hour per day completely away from external influence could be the change that you need in life to move forwards and to self-optimise. Create the life you want instead of watching someone else's.


Not only can you self-optimise your self by switching off, but your senses will be exemplified instead of dormant or passive too. Engage with your activity without feeling the need to check an email here or to see if there's a new post there. Lose yourself in what you are doing, imagine what you would see/hear/feel if you were experiencing it first hand, and if you are experiencing it first hand then go an experience it! Listen to the world around you and the sounds that you are making as you do it. Acknowledge what senses are being triggered or what emotion is being generated and indulge it. It could be the sound of the wind outside, the feeling of cashmere against your skin, the intensity of your concentration as you learn, the burn of another rep as you workout. Disconnect from the flat screen and connect to the four dimensional world you live in, and do it with every sense that you have. It might be a small thrill, but its a mindful and immersive practice.


Reflections. What can regular time out do?


It enables us to put the role of technology into perspective. You may realise that is is an addiction that you shouldn't be fuelling or a habit that you simply don't need, especially when you consider the time and energy you spend on it regardless of the place or occasion. It can be difficult to get out of the cycle but building a detox as a habit instead of the other way around will benefit you in the long run.


Self satisfaction vs. external gratification. Likes on our instagram posts are ego-boosting, but time spent doing something productive or practical is far more profitable. Find your time-out activity, throw yourself into it entirely and become what your experience. It is liberating and wholesome for who you are.


It isn't a dramatisation to use the term addiction. Although not formally recognised as a disorder, experts consider that technology can lead to physical, social and rooted psychological problems. I don't want to believe that my use of technology could be a causation of something more serious, and any of the issues I have are something that should be worked on by focussing on myself rather than media. Cutting down now will be beneficial and productive for your future self.


Work-life balancing. It's hard to achieve at the best of times but take a step back and evaluate your situation. If like me you have to be online to make your business work, take stock of the time you spend working and the time you spend doing little else. Could you turn your attention to something else during your break?


Intentions. Where to go from here?


Take a slow and realistic approach to detoxing. An hour during the day when you are usually online is enough to begin to understand where technology fits into your life, how it impacts you, and what you really need it for. I emphasise "during the day" because this is where the challenge and the problem will probably be. The later hours are much easier to disconnect yourself and that's something you should be doing as you wind-down for bed anyway.


Set your boundaries: turn off notifications during or after a certain time or switch to airplane mode for an allocated slot each day. If you need to set an automatic reply on your email or messages then do so. Don't use it as an excuse to avoid your boss, but do use it as an excuse to do something for you.


Have dedicated no-screen zones: when dining, when you first wake up, before you sleep, when with friends or family, when working on your passions or projects, whenever you’re outside. Pick one or two and make it habitual.


Long term goals: try a weekend or a full week without your digital devices + screens. I will definitely be trying a weekend or 48-hour detox (but a woman needs to work so a week is a bit of a stretch at this stage!)


To do today: Write a list of things you would do if you had an extra hour away from phones, macs and media. Write a list of things you have been wanting to get done if you could allocate a short period of time to it entirely. Write a list of things you can do that involve no screens at all. Disconnecting may be daunting, but having such lists on hand can help you ease into it. Whatever it is, do what feels good for you.


A digital detox is about learning to prioritise and recognise what role connectivity plays in your life. Become mindful of your digital habits. Become engaged with life outside of a rectangular image.


Time is of the essence and your energy is your most valuable asset. Don't waste too much of it on your mac.


AE x


elizabethandwhite.contact@gmail.com


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page