top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmie Elizabeth White

Weekly Wishlist, 11.07.2022

I write this post at my new little desk in my new little flat in my new home city, London baby! I say my flat, but I am renting and sharing with other people, and I say new desk, but it is only my presence at the chair in front of it that's new, really. Nevertheless, I am happy to be sitting here, *finally*. If you know me, you know that London has been on my agenda for many, many years, and the opportunity finally came my way, and goodness, am I going to work hard to prove my worth here.


To update you all, including my friends and family who I haven't yet told, I've spent the past week settling into my new job at Country Life Magazine. I can't believe I get to write those words, and although it's only a temporary position, it has got me feeling all sorts of happy feels, and I am so enamoured to be a part of the wonderful team that I will be working with in the next few months. They have welcomed me so wonderfully this past week, and I can't wait to see the work we produce in the magazine each week.


I am also incredibly excited to have some of the most established, exciting and utterly enchanting stores on my very door step. In between working, settling in, running errands and meeting new people, I managed to steal a few moments at Harrods, in person, and unsurprisingly, it did not disappoint. This weeks edit includes a few of my favourite pieces from my visit, along with a few other designers and pieces that have caught my eye this week.


The Harrods Hits

I don't know if you remember my inclusion of a jumpsuit from ME+EM a few weeks ago? Well I finally got the opportunity to experience the brand in person, and loved this geometric halterneck dress in shades of green and peach. I'm a firm believer that every woman needs a DVF dress in her life, and think this Olivier midi dress is such a gorgeous piece for the Summer, and much more youthful and inspired than the usual DVF wrap dress. (No hate to the wrap dress, I just think this offers way more.) But the dress I spent way too much time with was this incredible coral reef artwork by Cecilie Bahnsen. It was underneath a spotlight and just took my breath away. I thought it was such a clever balance of proportions and cut-outs, especially that fab tucked skirt. Vibrant, fun, feminine, and a little fussy, but aren't we all. An absolute dream to say the least.


The Red Valentino Sale

With the Valentino Haute Couture show being the most recent flurry of joy for the fashion crowd, along with an unapologetic feminist Florence Pugh shutting down instagram (see here), I thought I would do my bit and have a look to see what goodies I could find in their current online offerings. This cardigan with bows is the cutest thing I've seen in a while. It's the perfect style for straight leg jeans, wide leg trousers or layered over this taffeta dress if you wanted to perfect the runway look. Of course, a wishlist of mine wouldn't be complete without a white shirt, and this has a frill of epic proportions so you know I am all in.


More Goodies

Moving away from high end, we have a high street hit in a similar style to the Red Valentino pieces in the shape of a square neck mini dress from ASOS. You can't really go wrong with all white, just don't spill your rose! The high street offered me so much joy in terms of accessories this week. We have this fabulous wide brimmed straw hat from ARKET which is in the sale for only £28. My favourite pieces have to be these headpieces from ZARA. The gold one is just exquisite, and reminds me of the golden tiaras and crowns that Dolce & Gabbana use on the runway. The blue version is really pretty, and would look gorgeous with this silk & linen top from AllSaints. I also found this similar style puff sleeve top from Abercrombie which is equally as pretty.



If you didn't know, it's time to know: pink is still the colour on everyone's mind. From the boldest shades sported by Margot Robbie's Barbie to the softest shades of crepe and sweet marshmallow, pink is having a moment, and this embellished by Sister Jane deserves a little moment too. I've coupled this with these heart-print sheer socks for a really girly feel. Pair with a taffeta dress and a cardigan adorned with bows, and you'll be dancing your way down the street Simone Rocha style.


And finally, I bring you back to Harrods for these Saint Laurent logo earrings. If you could take a holiday in Tuscany and put it in a jewellery box, this is what you would get. Who needs the Italian sun when Saint Laurent can bring it to your very lobes? You don't have to wait hours for luggage, either.


Happy shopping! AE x

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page