top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmie Elizabeth White

Weekly Wishlist, 29/08/22

My, my, how fast time flies! It’s the end of August, I am still at Country Life (ohmigosh!!), producing newsletters and keeping on top of my fashion game of course. Although I am living in London, I feel that I have not yet been LIVING in London, as I needed time to settle in, adjust and get on top of my agenda again, but I finally feel a bit more relaxed, and ready to live a little bit. Now where did I put that mazcal?


I don’t know about you, but the latter half of August means one thing for me: September is coming, and that means FASHION WEEK. I am already filling in my schedule and hoping to be reporting on my favourite shows when the time comes. Another apprehension taking my time is that Autumn is literally around the corner. I went into The White Company last week and melted into their early Autumn cashmere offerings. My plan this Bank Holiday Monday is to tour a museum in the morning, then tour some of my favourite shops all afternoon to see some of the early collections. No doubt I will see pieces that will make an appearance in the next few months.


This weeks wishlist starts with 2 absolutely amazing swansong Summer dresses and moves into more transitional styles and accessories. I hope you enjoy!


I was having a browse on The Outnet when this Shrimps dress caught my attention. I clicked to have a further look, and realised that the print is actually bunches of grapes, and you know what grapes make? Yes, I then proceeded to fall in love. The Sika dress needs no explanation, just look at it.


I was going to do a whole post dedicated to some of the glorious headwear that I have been admiring recently, but decided to pick four for this edit, and will round up more at a later date. The first is this amazing Copacabana hat from Farm Rio. I tried this on when I went to Liberty and it is the most fun my head has had in while. The shape keeps the print from looking childish, and it's a steal at £60 (so be quick). Another hat I found in Liberty London was this gingham bucket hat by Le Veste. I have a love-hate relationship with gingham but thought that this hit the nail on the head, and loved the pairing with the gingham shirt on the product page. The pink Jacquemus hat is outrageous and I love it. This colour is still going strong in the style stakes, and I wonder if it will feature in the September shows, or if we will welcome in another colour to centre stage. Finally, it's the Loewe bucket hat. Playful and minimalist and fun but so practical too. This will take you well into the Autumn/Winter, and out the other side through the Spring too.


Moving into the transitional pieces, a must investment is a blazer or two and this Jacquemus jacket is perfect for navigating the seasons. It will look amazing with these COS linen trousers. A black satin slip skirt is a piece that everybody needs, and is a great way to get away with wearing black, black and more black in the Summer. Wear with your comfiest t-shirt now and cosiest chunky knit when the weather turns. I also came across this satin slip dress from ARKET which deserves a place in the list. I'd pair this with a leather boot and shearling jacket to give it an Autumn feel. This navy H&M dress takes 3rd place for my favourites this week (after the two Summer styles above) but will easily take 1st once October is here. Finally, is the STAUD dress. I think I have a thing with two-tone, and I'm sure I included this in some edit last year! Nevertheless, the style is so good, it's here again.



Some final goodies! This yellow cashmere cable knit from Ralph Lauren brought me huge amounts of joy this week. It's the perfect hue for pairing with navy or with beige, such as you can see in the image here, so a really hard-working piece despite the bold colour. Of course the collared striped jumper will be big again for the instagram fashion crowd. H&M have released the sell-out version of theirs very early, but you can pair this with black bermuda shorts to keep it seasonally relevant. If you know fashion, you know equestrian details are always welcome, so this horsebit belt from ARKET will rocket your outfit into a luxury sphere without needing to invest. What does that mean? You can invest elsewhere, and last week we were introduced to this hazelnut colourway from Christian Dior. At work, I spent spent quite some time with our luxury editor attempting to find 100 reasons why one absolutely must invest in a phone pouch (so practical, much safer to carry...), but I think Dior just gave us the only reason we really need.


Happy shopping.


AE x

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page