top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmie Elizabeth White

Weekly Wishlist: Sunday 30th January



My first piece is this tasselled dress by Maison ARTC. I came across this brand reading Vogue India. It was included in an editorial about sustainable fashion brands and designers from around the world. I did some shopping and found a lot of them to be quite rustic, but I loved the editorial that was put together and really liked some of the pieces from Maison ARTC. The brand is based in Morocco which actually holds a special place in my heart, and combines local and historical textiles to produce one-of-a-kind pieces. This dress is my favourite.


Fast forward about 3000 years and you get this gorgeous futuristic graphic print skirt by Paco Rabanne. This is another piece that I didn't like for around 20 seconds before totally converting. I imagine this with a black racer back and square-toe sandals in Summer, and would style for now with a fitted turtleneck and some slouchy pointed boots on my feet. For something a little more weekend, I'd tuck in this little Monki top which comes in at the same price as the cocktail I hope to be sipping. I realise that I subconsciously create outfits as I'm pulling together my weekly wishlist and found another fun little skirt from Faithful the Brand that will pair with the Monki top above. It has a matching shirt too, but I felt that this was a little too Fresh Prince for me.


This week was the first time I had a look at YAS on their website, and I found this gorgeous little dress which has made it to my possibility list for the weddings coming up this year. I love the richness of the colours and how the tiers and pleats are all the way up the dress, not just at the skirt. This is ideal for a wedding not only because it looks fab for photos, but it'll hide any food or alcohol babies that occur.


I dared to venture onto ASOS to have a look at Topshop (RIP old friend) and see if anything was worthy of a recommendation. I found this fab organza shirt hiding amongst the trash. It struck me a bit Simone Rocha, and I'd style it using her genius as a blueprint. Layer this over another shirt, a voluminous skirt, or underneath a jewelled bustier for some unexpected but entirely practical glamour. Don't forget the tiara and ribbons to really channel some Rocha.


Another high-fashion but high-street gem I found was this citron knit from Mango. Look to Joseph, Loewe or Cecilie Bahnsen for some colour and style references here. Citron is so good right now and Mango has got this just right. But do not do what Mango did and pair with such uninspiring grey trousers and dorky shoes. Instead, go romantic with a voluminous skirt, try straight leg leather trousers, or go high fashion with red leggings and a CELINE bucket hat to match.


As I was finishing up this edit last night, I just happened to have a quick look on Harvey Nichols and I was drawn to this Veronica Beard dress and it knocked another piece from the list instantly. I love it's simplicity and elegance, and I love even more that I have a pair of the gold platform shoes (yes, I invested) that would look so sassy with this. Is cream allowed for a wedding? Speaking of shoes, Saint Laurent brought out another pair of printed platforms that will set your pulses racing. These are quirky and they are covered in hearts, so surely that's a Valentines Day shaped excuse for purchase? Realistically, I am very single, so I will be snuggling down with some shearling Birkenstocks and sipping my favourite wine from my favourite glass as I watch my favourite films again.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page